AGM 2011 – A Brief Report

Thursday 17th November saw the Group’s Annual General Meeting take place at Buckthorn House. Local residents were joined by a range of guests including members of Southway Housing’s team, local police officers, Action for Sustainable Living, councillors Ian Hyde, Norman Lewis and Bernie Ryan and MP John Leech.

A resumé of the year’s activities was presented by Chairman Richard Miller and a financial statement was provided by Treasurer Amina Kasar. Presentations were given by Southway’s Steve Fanning about proposed environmental improvements and by Simon Robinson of Action for Sustainable Living about the Energy Academy initiative they are launching in the area.

Attendees were given the opportunity to discuss local issues to the agency representatives present resulting in debates about improving aspects of the local environment, crime and security, parking and rubbish collection.

As part of the  Group’s constitution and this being the AGM, a new committee was formed and new officers elected. Voted into the key roles were Bob Stacey, who is the new Chairman; Richard Miller (who has been Chairman for the past 20 months) – Secretary; and Amina Kasar who resumes her role as Treasurer for the second consecutive year. We also welcome Samantha Thompson onto the committee, and offer an ongoing invitation to all local residents who may wish to join the committee and get more closely involved in helping out with the Group and its activities.

Our next scheduled committee meeting is on Tuesday 29th November, between 7.15 and 8.15pm at Buckthorn House.

Thank you to all who attended the AGM and for your continued support of the Group.

This entry was posted in AGM, Annual General Meeting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *